NIKKI: As Promised…Sample Menu*

Breakfast (typically not eaten all at once but throughout the morning)

1 cup of coffee with 1/4 cup of 2% milk and 1 tablespoon of sugar

1 Nature Valley Sweet & Salty Nut Almond Granola Bar

1/3 of a batch of smoothie made from 1 individual serving of Dannon Oikos Vanilla Greek yogurt, 1 tablespoon of orange juice concentrate, 1 cup of frozen dark sweet cherries, 1 cup of frozen diced mango, 1 cup of ice, 1 cup of water

Lunch

1 multi-grain with flax-seed sandwich wrap filled with 2 slices of Sargento Thin Sliced Cheese, 3 slices of Hillshire Farms Chipotle Chicken Breast (or similar lunch meat), 1 tablespoon of hummus, and several cucumber slices

2 tablespoons of hummus with 2 servings of fresh vegetables, usually carrots, snow peas, or broccoli

Snack

another cup of coffee with milk and sugar like with breakfast or a Café Escapes Chai Latte or Café Caramel K-Cup

24 almonds

Dinner

Dinner varies day-to-day – I eat what my family eats but I try to eat a smaller portion and with as many vegetables as I want.  And sometimes a peanut butter cup.  Because I’m not a machine.

*********************************************************************************************************

Monday through Friday, I typically follow something similar to this while on the weekends, I relax a little bit, still trying to make better choices when I can.  I write down what I eat, noting approximate calories, as I find this makes me think about what I eat a little more carefully.

I don’t go to restaurants as often as I used to but still do this once or twice per week.  When I do, I order what I want, making small modifications here and there.  For example, I get the vegetarian sub at Jimmy John’s and ask for no mayo and extra cucumbers which according to the online nutrition calculator on their website, puts the sandwich under 500 calories.  Other times, I just eat what I want and know that one meal isn’t going to undo my hard work.  Such as when I go to El Rancherito and order the nachos.

So there you have it.  Whether you wanted it or not.  And I’m pretty sure you didn’t.

In other news, I signed up for my first ever exercise class for this coming Friday.  Something called Indo-Row/TRX.  I’m pretty excited.  I’m also pretty sure I’m going to sustain an injury.  It should be a good time.

 

* This menu has not been approved by health professionals of any sort and may or may not actually be healthy.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a comment